Close

2.80 Add To Cart problem

david.hirst
11 years ago
#1967 Quote
Hi, I'm new to nopcommerce and to this forum so I don't know whether this problem is a bug or a lack of experience in properly installing and setting things up.

I have the 2.80 store basically running okay with the Fashion theme installed. I have added some categories and have now added a single product in one of the categories (I chose not to put any sample data into this installation). If on the "category" view page I try to click the "Add to cart" button I get an error message popup (more later). However, if I click on the product image and go to the product page, when I click on the "Add to cart" button the "Just added to your basket" popup appears and I can click on "go to cart" and there the product is in the shopping cart all configured with the default choice of product specifications. So, it looks like there's no fundamental problem with either the product setup or the shopping cart.

The error I get when trying to add to the basket from the category page is " Error executing child request for handler 'System.Web.Mvc.HttpHandlerUtil+ServerExecuteHttpHandlerAsyncWrapper'. " I would be happy to cut-and-paste the full error message from the log file if anyone requires it but its very long and I don't want to abuse or overload this forum as I'm new around here and don't know the forum etiquette. Can anyone help? I realise this may not even be a "Theme" problem, but I don't yet know how much core store behaviour is replaced by the theme.

I realise that one "solution" may be to remove the "Add to cart" button from the category page, and in all honesty, I wasn't expecting one to be there as the product really does require configuring before purchase, even if just to be aware of and confirm the default options and I'll probably end up doing that and have to work out what code and where to tweak it. But there may just be a bug in the Fashion Theme that I have stumbled across ...